Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Mothering Sunday

It's been a lovely weekend with Mum.  We had lunch yesterday with my niece and her family, and today my sister joined us in Church - where all the ladies were given daffodils and tulips - before a roast lunch together at our usual carvery.  These luscious tulips were a Mothering Sunday gift from my sister.  Mum is still finding it very hard without Dad by her side, but she knows that she needs to find a direction and purpose so that she feels more like getting up in the mornings.  She has agreed to go back on the rota for sidesman duties, and will do her first one next Sunday.  It will be strange for her to do it with someone other than Dad, but she likes the idea of being involved and useful.

I've now become the registered keeper of Dad's car, and have insured it and booked it in for a service and MOT next week.  Just got to sell my old StreetKa for as much as I can get, which I will then hand over to Mum.

Time to get some sleep now before an early start tomorrow doing the sound balance on Radio 4's "Start the Week" programme for the penultimate time.  Still can't quite believe I'm actually leaving the BBC in only two weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.