Sydney

By Sydney

Mt Rainier

Not a tremendous photo, mind you, but even though this mountain has been part of my daily life for most of my 61 years, I am still struck by the grandeur and the prehistoric, untamed visceral wildness of it. It’s a volcano, it’s unpredictable, it’s neighbors both south and north steam and bulge, sink and sleep. Standing there, displaying changing moods, sometimes hit by pinky orange sunset reflections, sometimes appearing so clearly you can make out small details, but always suggesting both permanence and unrest. The fact that it rises in this photo above something as unattractive and commonplace as Boeing field makes its presence all the more miraculous to me. It's the backdrop for every day here, no journey or expedition required, we only need to go out the door and there it is! Remarkable, I think. Everyone has a reverential feeling towards the mountain. It is well loved.
 
I have to admit that if Blip goes away I will miss the journals I have favorited far more than my own. I actually joined FB (ugh! What a lot of chatter that brings) so as not to lose touch. Hoping it won’t end, keeping the faith!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.