Sydney

By Sydney

Polar Bear and Night with Her Train of Stars

Now that I’ve sold my house I have begun to take photos of the quirky things I will miss and wish to always remember, such as this photo of some of the slates that line my shower. The lovely young man who did the remodel really “got” me and made the whole tiny, ancient room feel special. Part of that was his using pale blue glass tiles and slate on the walls. When I came home from work on the day that he installed these, I was thrilled and delighted to see, unplanned by him, a polar bear emerging from his cave on the upper and lower two left panels! Do you see them? I love them and am working on a plan to take them with me along with the other two next to them which to me appear as a mother with her child in her arms on the top right and “Night with her Train of Stars” on the bottom right, little angels following along in the wake of their mothering angel, guiding them to sleep. I know, I’m possibly the only one who sees these, but there you are  :)
 
Supposedly, Edward Robert Hughes drew his inspiration for his painting “Night with Her Train of Stars”, one of the final masterworks of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, from the poem "Margaritae Sorori," by W. E. Henley. The significant passage reads as follows: "Shadows rise. The lark sings on. The sun, / Closing his benediction, / Sinks, and the darkening air / Thrills with a sense of the triumphing night— / Night with her train of stars / And her great gift of sleep."
 
I am extremely hopeful that all is well with Blipfoto and that our journals will be saved. For me, I mourned the potential loss of your journals far more than my own. But now, maybe joy is the watchword for the future! Xoxoxo
 
PS Thank you all for all the hearts and stars. I find the new format to be a bit overwhelming for giving thanks to each of you but please know that your support and friendship means the world to me and I do thank you all individually in my heart every day. xo

I will blip outstretched arms tomorrow, need to wash my hair :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.