Pancake Pride

My sister's granddaughter/my great-niece, E, age 5, and her father, D, made a four-hour drive to Austin yesterday to spend time with us and D's siblings, and they spent the night here. This morning everyone was invited for pancakes and bacon, and E made this splendid pancake, complete with mini chocolate chips, for her father, and served it with love.

While D worked in his sister's front yard this afternoon, M and I took E to a couple of nearby parks to expend some of her considerable energy. I took more photos with my camera, but as it's so easy to do a blip on my iPad using a photo taken with my now-ancient iPhone 4, that's what I did here. (I'll be upgrading to a newer model soon.)

I did some ironing for M later in the afternoon, a simple task that I enjoy, and with only the two of us here for supper, a simple meal of stir-fried vegetables, bread, and wonderful goat cheeses from yesterday's farmers' market, we filled the evening with heartfelt words, much laughter, and eyes sometimes glistening with tears, as we reminisced about the past and looked forward to the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.