TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Blip Liquidation Notice on Companies House website

The news broke today that Blipfoto is under a compulsory liquidation notice. Here is the quote from Blipfoto friends on Facebook  from Patrick Meyer Higgins about an hour ago.

'I phoned the [Blipfoto] liquidator (listed as Thomas MacLennan on the Companies House website, but I spoke to one of his colleagues at FRP Advisory) saying that I was a Blipfoto user and concerned about my Lifetime Membership and stored entries, and asked whether I needed to back up my photographs. The liquidator seemed confident in stating that such action would be unnecessary. He didn't say much (understandably); he thought it unlikely that Blip was going to be taken down imminently, and said that they were trying to secure a sale, but nothing was yet concrete.
It wasn't exactly sworn testimony, but I do feel somewhat relieved.'

The facebook friends of Blipfoto page which has some useful info and someone who is developing some code to make it possible to move journal entries to Wordpress (?)


With a heavy heart I have set up a 365Project profile. I'll keep the faith with Blipfoto until it either folds or is reborn.

Two things occurs to me: if Blipfoto does fold is it possible in some way to keep the Blipfoto community together? One way would be to try and buy out the liquidated company - if someone else is not already doing this. But it would would be terribly complicated as a social enterprise/co-operative.

Another strategy might be to try and arrange a bulk transfer of Blip members and data to a new site - for example Project365 but there may be others - with a special price plan and developer time devoted to giving a Blip community a special place/profile on such a platform.

If you're opening a 365Project account you might want to have a look at the Blip refugees thread in the comments section here. I stopped counting when I'd got past the 150 entries. And that is since March 15th.


Let's hope Blipfoto and its amazing community can go forward and not be rolled into 'just another social media platform' which is mined for its personal profile data to sell on to advertisers.

But this will mean paying for that privilege (see David Colling's excellent entry today). It's not quite what Dario Fo had in mind but I say, 'Can Pay, Will Pay'.

As they say, in the end you get aught for naught.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.