Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Not Down Until You Are Out!

So the news has come through and Blipfoto is in liquidation.  I imagine that is why we haven't heard anything.  The administrator is in charge and has probably made the decision that Joe et al must not say anything.

Firstly, if any of the HQ staff are reading this my best wishes to you and your families.  I can't imagine what you are going through but I fervently hope you will come through it and secure a safe future.

It's funny, you'd think the company had fallen off a cliff but the site is still here, it still works, I am getting comments from others and can view and comment on your journals.  As the administrator goes to work he will recognise that the major asset of the company is.........well, it's us!  Time to show what a valuable asset we can be by being positive, showing what makes this community so great.  I for one will continue to post while the site is here.  I hope you will do the same.  

You never know, even as you read this there may be things happening behind the scenes, wheelers and dealers trying to put a rescue package together, people who see the potential of Blipfoto.  People who love Blipfoto!  I for one am optimistic having been in contact with other members over recent days!

Things will have to change.  The financial model didn't work.  We need members to be willing to pay for the benefits the site has to offer.  All the weeping and wailing at its potential loss must indicate how much we value the community we have become part of.  It is cosy and comfortable, nurturing and supportive, I have never known another social media site like it.  In the hundreds of thousands of comments I have received over more than three years of blipping I can't remember a single negative comment!  It is amazing.  It was uncommercial, and that in the end was probably the reason we are where we are.  Joe and HQ did not sell out to the advertisers.  They tried to stay true to the ideals of the site.

I know we are making contingencies, considering other sites, wondering what to do next.  I will keep blipping while there is a site to blip on.  Now more than ever we need to show why we love this community of photographers so much!

I AM A BLIPPER AND I DO IT ONCE A DAY!


ps, Another well regarded member has suggested tagging all posts with 'blipforever'.  I prefer it to the 'je suis....' (or 'I am....'), just don't feel comfortable with that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.