Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Serenity

Anything but I suppose when I discovered I had lost my Japan Rail Pass this morning.  Ringing hotels and checking with JR has not discovered it and they can't be reissued.  Hopefully the travel insurance will cover the additional costs but I am not sure.

This was the view from the breakfast room the hotel we were staying at up in the hills in Hakone.  We caught the resort bus back to Odawara and from there caught shinkansens to Kyoto.  I had to laugh at the driver of the bus as he had to drive one handedly for a while as he was holding on to my bag which has a tendency to fall over.  He eventually got it right.  We asked for an express train to Kyoto and got tickets on the superexpress directo.  It stopped at every station to Kyoto!  Another lesson learned.

Still we have found a comfortable Ryokan and have had dinner at a very trendy little cafe with lots of eclectic decorations.  Obviously a favourite in the area as it was well patronised.

Tomorrow we start Kyoto Templearama and a blipmeet with Gillsabroad.  One of the many many pleasures and joys that has come out of my time on blip is meeting up with other blippers both at home and abroad.  You are all such a lovely lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.