Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The ba's burst

Like most of us I'm quite deflated by the news of Blipfoto's demise.

The people I feel sorry for the most are, of course, the staff who worked there and who dedicated themselves to keeping the site going. It doesn't seem that long ago since we were all moaning about the new website and the change of the background colour from grey to white, the missing features, the unwieldiness of the interface, the announcement about Polaroid's involvement (what happened to that?); then the silence and speculation. All that seems insignificant now and we just have to hope that those who have lost money and livelihoods will quickly recover both.

I joined Blipfoto only 15 months ago and found that what started out as a hobby quickly became (almost) an obsession. Moreover, that what I thought I was joining - a photo-sharing website - was much more than that: it was a story-sharing community. It was fun. Maybe still will be.

As long as the Blipfoto site allows me to post photos I will continue to do so.  For those who are interested, I'm on Flickr as luckypenguin and have just signed up for an account on the 365 Project as chinapenguin - although I'm not sure how that will develop over time.

So long and thanks for all the fish. See you on the other side (in a manner of speaking!) and, perhaps, on this site for a wee while longer. Keep the faith!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.