Plus ça change...

By SooB

Nostalgia

Seven years ago yesterday (I never was very good with dates) I posted my first ever blip, of a wall.  Let's hope this ukelele won't be my last blip.

Anyway, enough of such melancholy thoughts.  The day has busily rushed by in a haze of plumbing (mainly my job was turning the stopcock on and off when shouted at through the hole in the floor), pinning TallGirl's tail on (carneval at school - she was a fox), taxi driving for the kids, discussing company rescues with Mr B, and copying a journal for a wee tot.  

Driving Mr B to the airport tonight (guess what, he's off to buy a car) he asked if I would switch to just having a 'normal' blog if blip does shuffle off.  But I'm not sure that would work for me.  The discipline of daily blipping is what keeps me doing it.  And all you lovely lot, naturally.  Even those of you who are not so lovely are at least interesting - or at any rate more interesting than my humdrum life.  

And that's the thing, isn't it.  If you have a blog you can fall into just posting when something fun happens - it's what I used to do with a blog I kept for my Mam to read.  But what I like most when I look back on blip is the fleeting moments: that sunset shared with CarbBoy, that day he wouldn't speak to me because England beat Scotland at rugby and his Dad wasn't there.  It's not the piano recitals and the holidays I need a blog for - I'll remember those anyway - it's the rainy afternoons that turn out to be the best fun ever, the crazy things the kids say, that day we found the pink starfish, and of course the conversations that go on below the line.

Well so much for avoiding melancholy thoughts.  I'm off to look for the blipalele thingy.  That'll cheer me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.