Plus ça change...

By SooB

And breathe....

So blip may be safe.  Or not.  But safe for now, it seems.

Lots of stuff on blip/facebook about how brilliant blip is, but here's an entirely practical thing I love about it.  Today CarbBoy was a bit snuffly.  And looking back through the past few years' blips I can see that that happens about this time of year, and in between 4 and 6 weeks' time it's going to escalate into a bad attack of staying at home for a week coughing and vomiting.  So, we'll get the asthma medication and antihistamines started early this year.  

Of course, you might argue that a good parent would never have to rely on social media for this sort of thing, but then I'm not a good parent.  So ha!  You'd be wrong.  Hmmm.

In other news, I found that I am barely qualified to be a member of the 21st century.  I spent fully 20 minutes closing programs on my iMac, and doing google searches to find out why it was making this funny beep noise every now and then.  Turns out facebook beeps at you when someone posts something on a page you have open.  Who knew?  (Ok, everyone else.)

As well as surprising myself with ignorance today (ok, not such a surprise), the kids surprised me in a different way.  On the way back to school after lunch they started an animated 'discussion' (I mean argument).  That's no surprise.  No, but it was about grammar.  And the circumstances in which 'du' could be a preposition or a determinant.  (I might have that wrong.)  There was also lots of stuff about subordinate or qualifying nouns.  Or something. Gosh.  Of course, the conversation was in French so they might have been arguing about quite how stupid their mother is.

And then, in the pause between TallGirl heading back to school and CarbBoy being allowed back in, time for a few rounds of 'Just a Minute' with CarbBoy, where I surprised myself again by being rubbish.  Perhaps the endless cutting and pasting of the last few days has taken its toll...

More cutting and pasting early today when I realised that, although I might have my mindless warblings safe, there were an awful lot of other memories on blip besides my own journal.  And so followed a trawl through my favourites and some downloading of favourite recipes, fabulous shots and great below the line stuff.  (Also one old photo that I might have to pluck up courage to ask someone for a proper copy of.) Hope that's not too weird and stalkerish.  At least it's not as weird and stalkerish as this spotlight whore lovely chap.  

Mr B is in Britain.  Somewhere.  His phone is on top of the microwave.  Here.  Hence many conversations for me with the man he was going to buy a car from today.  And no, I don't know if he bought the car.  But if he did, a young chap I know in Da Bush will be alarmed that it has 'no roof'.  Happily, Mr B remembered to tell me before he left which flight he is on on the way back.  So all being well he will be home tomorrow.  The car will be in Saffron Walden.  And his phone will still be on top of the microwave.

And tonight many conversations that I partially understood with the rest of the school board folk.  Some useful stuff, I think.  Including possibly a way I can avoid having to call the bailiffs in on someone.  And I made two jokes.  I wonder if I will ever speak French well enough to make good points rather than just lame puns?

Tomorrow (are you still here?) there's the #blipfotoforever project. (More here.)  Get involved if you can.  Show the chap/ess with the cash that we're worth it.  Wonder who I'll be holding hands with this time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.