Perspective...

It always depends on what angle you look at things...

Sad news today that Blipfoto Limited have gone into liquidation. 

It's not the end of the world. No-one died. Life as we know it will continue, we'll just save it somewhere else. 

It is sad, I understand that. We've all made friendships here, forged bonds and met people we wouldn't normally have met. We've laughed and we've cried and experienced a whole load of emotions in between. We've shared intimate moments from births to deaths to marriages. We've grown to love other people's children and pets and we've found amazing photographers who go to amazing lengths for that one shot. All of that is thanks to Joe and his little concept that started all those years ago and his team who have helped it grow. For that I'm grateful.

I don't imagine we'll find out what really happened. Questions are raised as to why there's been silence and I imagine that has a lot to do with the fact that staff have been made redundant and were unaware. I'm sad for them more than for us. We can save our lives onto a hard drive but I'm not wondering how I'm going to pay my bills at the end of the month. 

A little perspective goes a long way. 

A lot of our questions will go unanswered and that's mildly annoying given how much we all love this community and it is a real shame but in the grand scheme of things, it's not tragic. We can all keep taking photos, we can all keep in touch somewhere else if we want to and in the meantime we can stay here and remain positive that someone will come along and save the site. 

It does not warrant the comparisons I've witnessed today.

Perspective. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.