iaint

By iaint

A day of escapism

This morning I had to choose between a repeat of yesterday - doing all the things I ought to do - or taking advantage of the wonderful weather and having some fun.

Well, the photo is a giveaway. 7.30am I was in the car. A quick breakfast at McDonalds in Perth. By 10am I had my boots on and was on my way to the summit of Ben Lawers.

It's in Perthshire - the southern Highlands. 1,214 metres, which I believe converts to 3,983 ft.

Truth is, I'm not one of the hordes of middle class, middle aged Scots who become obsessed with "bagging" Munros (that's our term for the highest category of hill - over 3,500 ft I think).

I climbed my first hill last year. That led to 4-5 other jaunts into the Scottish wilderness in 2011, and a couple of wee Alps as well. Today was about going back to that beginning in July 2011 (same hill as today) to decide if this is something I want to do regularly or was just a passing phase.

Jury is out...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.