Domine dirige nos

Domine dirige nos is apparently the Latin motto of the City of London. I worked in the City for about six years, and although I must of seen the crest many many times I would never have known the motto. In the case of the City of London today, the Lord who would guide us may no longer be the one foreseen when the motto was conceived in the 17th century.

Today we checked out of our hotel. We then had a walk around the Bermondsey area in the morning. This is something else I might not have cared to do years ago when I worked here, but it has changed considerably since my time. For example there is now no sign of the tannery in which I worked sometimes, nor of the smell associated with the tannery. I tried to remember where it would have been, and may have traced it as there was a modern building next to some older properties. I take this to be the redeveloped site of a departed tannery. It must have been one of the last working in the area. Now only the street names point to the former industry.

After a late morning coffee we got the train west to Twyford to start the journey back to Aberdeen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.