Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Just a blip

Let's hope so. I'm going nowhere. This week we're looking after a rascally pup who's running rings around us. Here, he and Pip are reacting to Joe's post. I've come down with a post-holiday bug and still have to back blip a couple of images from our trip to Egypt.

The boat harked back to the early 19th century Nile cruisers pioneered by Thomas Cook and there were a lot of period features - old gramophone, lanterns, chintz curtains, us. Someone was bumped off but Hercule Poirot solved it. The tour guide did it.

I'm thinking of doing a holiday book starting with sepia pics to show how little things have changed. Except that's a lie. Today big hotel boats plough up and down the Nile, belching their exhausts, though not so many right now after the troubles. Bombs were going off in Cairo when we were there. But I remember London in the 80s.

The country relies on tourism for 25 per cent of its economy. Or it did; not now. The Egyptians are lovely people and deserve better. I asked our guide in Cairo what he'd be doing when we'd gone. "Playing bridge," he said.

Sad to see Joe's message confirming yesterday's news. I hope a buyer can be found and that he will stay in this business one way or another. And I hope people, including me, will be understanding of the new blip. I think some sort of commercial/advertising input is inevitable since it's clear that the subscription model wasn't sufficient.

The gallery is building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.