Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Punk selfies @ Kiyomizu-dera Temple

Along with the other 5 million tourists in Kyoto at the moment we headed off to the Kiyomizu-dera Temple this morning.  Thanks to Gillsabroad, we are now a little better acquainted with getting around Kyoto and hopped on the 100 bus and got there pretty easily.  There were so many young things out in traditional dress, I wondered whether there was something on.  There was a kimono hire place at the bottom of the hill where you could pretty cheaply hire the kimono, have the hair and make-up done and be a princess until 6 pm when you had to return it all.

These two stood out from the crowd as being very different.  Behind them was some blossom which was nearly fully out.  I loved their expressions.  So different from the other young girls I saw.  There were more selfies going on than you could point a stick selfie stick at.

We then went on to the Tori gates at Fushimi Inari Shrine.  I took a wrong turn and wound up in an enormous bamboo grove with the wind whistling through the tops it was quite eery as there was no-one else within sight.  As I was coming back down I heard a tapping and saw a woodpecker but it flew off before I could try and get a shot of it.  

Back to the food markets, dinner and now home.  Tomorrow we move on to Fukuoka for a couple of days.  Before I finish I just want to say how wonderful you blippers are who have done blipfotoforever blips.  Well done you lot, you make me so proud.  I will see if I can organise something tomorrow if I get a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.