Blipfoto Forever

The recent news about the liquidation of Blipfoto came as a great surprise to me, as it did for so many others. And it was a shock, to think about this whole grand experiment that has been Blip, possibly ending, or changing in some major way that might render it unrecognizable. I actually cried. Yes, I did. I tried to think of life without Blip, and all I could see was a long, dark corridor.

I have read since that earlier news report that a buyer has been found. I do not know what the future holds for Blip, but I am in for the long haul. I never planned to become a daily photo blogger, but somehow a friend in Ireland talked me into it, as a lark, after I bought a new camera a few years back.

And here I am, more than three years later, still Blipping. This one makes Blip number 1192. I can't help it. It's become part of who I am. Coming up with a decent photo to share with all of you each day is part of what motivates me on a daily basis. Being a Blipper challenges me to do more than just settle for what I see each day, but to go beyond that and seek out . . . something beautiful. For you. For myself.

This experience has made me ask some fundamental questions of myself. If it all ended, would I still carry my camera around all the time? Would I still take pictures every single day? Would I drive, or walk, out of my way to seek out beautiful sights, beyond those that cross my path naturally?

And how would I stay in touch with the people I've met here, from so many different countries? My loyal commenters, you know who you are - your words are so precious to me. For I enjoy the stars and the hearts that let me know when you think my image for the day is special, but ah, the words you write, how I look forward to those!

And some of the answers to those questions, I have found. I have no plans to join any other photo sharing or blogging sites at the present time. ("Please, NO!" in my husband's words.) The thought of starting over again somewhere new seems too daunting. And besides, no matter how similar another site may behave, well, it just won't be Blip. So here I stand. I cannot do otherwise. Still a Blipper! And the daily photo thing? Yeah, still doing that too . . . Just try to stop me.

I never really intended to become what I am, this GirlWithACamera, but somehow, I became that here. In trying to get better at this Blip thing, I have reaped unimaginable benefits for myself. Oh, the many beautiful things I have seen while on my quest for the latest Blip! Thank you for that.

I am the Penn State connection for Blip, and many of the pictures that I have posted on this photo site are ones I've taken on campus, or at the Arboretum that I have grown to love so much. I don't know of anyone else here who belongs to Blipfoto, though I may be wrong. (Any other Blippers located at Penn State - please give a shout out and let me know if you are here!)

The plea went out for Blippers, in a show of community solidarity, to make their March 18 entry a self-portrait, with arms outstretched, reaching out to other Blippers worldwide. While I am very much at home behind a camera - it's become as natural as breathing to me - it may surprise you to hear that I am a little camera shy. So I have asked my friend the Nittany lion (Penn State's mascot) to stand in for me on this day.

So it came to be that the lion was actually my first plan for this Blip. And then I relented: my back-up plan was actually that if I saw ANY OTHER PERSON by the shrine on this morning, I would ask them to use my camera (as fellow photographers, you may have some idea how reluctant I am to let this camera leave my  hands) and include me in this Blipfoto Forever shot.

But alas, and somewhat shockingly, for the five minutes I that I visited the lion, nobody came. (Yes, sometimes there are lines of people standing, waiting to photograph the lion. But before 8 am, upon first light: not so much, apparently.)

So to sum it all up . . . here is the news from the Penn State Blip contingent. We plan to carry on Blipping! And we hope you will too. And when the first light of morning hits, and the glories of the day are unfolding, think of me and know that I will be here, as it seems I always have been. As it ever shall be. Just reach out your paw, and I'll be there. . . .

The song: The Jackson Five, I'll Be There.

With much love,
The GirlWithACamera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.