Hi! I'm Daisy!

We received a mysterious package in the mail the day before this. It had traveled all the way from Oregon to Pennsylvania, which is quite a distance. And so we opened it eagerly. (We love to get things in the mail!) There was a card inside, with flowers on it, and here is what it said:

Hi!
I'm Daisy and I am a very small hedgehog. I want to go on VERY BIG ADVENTURES! May I join the famous Crittergator Adventure Team? Please? Pretty please? I'm not scared of Tabzilla either!
Daisy
(signed with a flourish and with a little flower drawn beside the name)

As I continued to unwrap what was inside, I came upon a small plastic container with a flower on the top, that exactly matched the ones on the card. Inside the little container was Daisy the adorable hedgehog, dressed in all the colors of sunshine.

Well, she had traveled far, so of course we offered her every comfort. Did she want a blanket? Did she need a nap? A cup of something hot? A meal? A hug? And so we welcomed her warmly, and tried to make her feel at home. Welcome, Daisy! We'll go on a grand adventure soon!

Now, I have to tell you here that I have generous friends. In fact, VERY generous friends, many of whom I have never met. I have occasionally received little gifts in the mail sent to me by friends I've met online who have enjoyed my little whimsical photo shoots. I think . . . when it comes to fun . . . EVERYbody wants to play! Who can blame us?

So here's a special Thank You to my friend on the west coast who sent us this precious little one to join our crew. Daisy is doing just great, and we love her already! And here's a shout-out to my online friends both far and near: a friendly greeting and a virtual hug to those we have met and those we have not yet met!

The song to accompany this image has to be about friendship, and this one's been a favorite of mine since the day it was released back in 1978. The tune is Kenny Loggins, with an assist from Stevie Nicks, on Whenever I Call You Friend.  And here's a bonus: a cover of the same tune performed by Michael Johnson and Alison Krauss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.