Hind Sight

Hind sight is foresight, or so they say.

So, instead of giving everybody the blip embrace (which has been tremendous), I offer a different point of view.  I suppose it is the d#mn engineer and designer in me to flit through all the possibilities... and I forgive you if you get angry at me, but do you suppose Joe was so naive to think that by partnering with Polaroid would benefit the Blip community or was he already looking for an out for other problems at hand?  

Hard to believe that Blip was managed so badly and in financial difficulty - but maybe....  just maybe it was?  Being a small business owner myself, I understand the problems with managing salaries, taxes and growth.  Just to be clear... it is all Greek to me!!!  lol   But then, have we all been hoodwinked into thinking that the new partnership was a good thing for us - which clearly it wasn't when they rolled out the new format with so many issues?  Trust me, I know product development and something about brand identity, brand loyalty, etc... but are we all such a gullable lot on Blip - we want to believe... we have invested so much of our time, energy and social freedom into this blessed site?  Let me just be clear again, you don't throw stuff down the throat of your paying customer and expect them to enjoy eating it.  Make it taste good... then maybe.

Along with many of you, I have dabbled on 365project the past few days (or longer for many) to feel out the alternative.  It has a different feel..  It doesn't have the same social group . though that can be mitigated in time I suppose...  I'm two days in, but I just wish already that it was Blip.  Albums idea is very cool though...

So what does the future hold with Polaroid if that is the probable outcome???  I wish Joe had pushed the decision back to the users earlier on... I bet we would have been willing to make Blip our own and let Joe continue to be Joe and keep Blip funky and soulful.  Now I don't know...

BBC coverage of the leverage.
Big announcement!
Polaroid Blipfoto Q&A
What changed my opinion.  who I think is an awesome photographer btw- so sorry if said Blipper takes offense to my opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.