Texann Times

By Texann

We all stand together

I haven’t wanted to pick up a camera since the beginning of February when Lee (leejohnaire) passed away.  Today, however, is different.  As a loyal member of the blip community, I wanted to join all of you in adding my support to blipfoto!   I know Lee would have been just as keen to take part, so I included him in my picture.  (Clearly I've still to learn how to hide the remote discreetly!)

Firstly, thank you so much to everyone who found a way to reach out to me while I was gone and had my comments turned off.  You really are a wonderful bunch!

I can’t believe that Lee and I were only on here for about four months, because it felt like a wonderful lifetime.  Blipping was a godsend for us; a distraction from what was happening in the other part of our lives, and something we had so much fun doing together.  Our intertwined journals are such a wonderful thing for me to have now.  We felt so embraced by everyone and appreciated that so much.

For me, Blipfoto will always be inextricably linked to Lee, so I am emotional, along with most of you, about what might happen to the company, the employees and the service.  I say all this, not as an attempt at a tear jerker, but simply to add my experience to everyone else’s.  I know so many of you have gone through and shared so much with this tremendously supportive community.  It is something I’ve never come across before on social media – support, positivity and kindness from so many people we’ve never met.  This all stemmed from blipfoto’s founder, Joe Tree, and the team at BlipCentral.  I feel for all of them as they have lost their ‘baby’ and their jobs and security, and I wish them all the very best for their futures!

Seeing everyone’s “holding hands in solidarity” blips today has made me smile and feel so fortunate to be part of such an amazing group.  No matter what happens, we must find a way to continue to “be excellent to each other,” just as Blipfoto has been excellent to us!

Lee posted this song with his blip on Christmas Day, and I felt it was appropriate today too.  Feel free to sing along!

Thank you Blipfoto for all that you’ve given me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.