Double identity

You see, it's not that I don't like the community here. I do. It's not that I don't think blipfoto is (or has been) a wonderful concept. I do. It's not that I don't feel I owe something to the community and the concept. I do - of course - although I don't feel I 'owe' anything in the sense that I purchased two lifetime memberships (and had the prescience to cash in my 365 book before the shop closed).

But I'm not really a "joiner in". Plus I have terrible feelings about the latest developments, nicely summarised here. The staff are gone. There is no "team", or Blip Central any more. The company that buys blipfoto will be domiciled in the US. Our images are already over there on Amazon servers. This could have serious data protection consequences. We are going to be monetised. And yet, of course, the community - multinational and diverse in every way - is still here, and so I probably can't quite make the wrench to leave just yet. But I'll be uploading parallel photos to the other place from now on.

So you'll have to put up with yet another "metaphorical" blip, even though I've promised there wouldn't be any more. This time a "mixed identity" blip, brought to you courtesy of one of my beloved #leithwalkshops.

So I'd love to say #blipfotoforever and #blipforever, but I don't know whether my heart is in it any more. Sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.