Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Pontrillis: Define change...

A wonderful inky business. Thats how I would  describe where I have been today. Sarah, greeting me with a huge smile and a cloth apron that bears the inky marks of a master printer at work. I am surrounded by plan chests of letter blocks, engraving blocks too. I see inverted pictures here and there. A creative wonderland. I want to literally get the ink that is gently warming by the heater and make words and print.

Sarah Lane makes real print.  This is a real life journey to meet her and her family. She isnt just a passionate creative, she a business woman, part also of a family of printers. Her father reminds me too of my Grandfather also a printer. Each clunk of the machine has to add up to sales.   It reminds me of what we are going through with our beloved Blipfoto.  

Few businesses have had it as hard as the print industry. How Sarah and her family have survived is down to their uniqueness and of course their followers who love understandably their originality.  The sight and touch of pressed ink is like no other. Blip also is like no other and should be handled with care. Its made up from an undefinable quality. Somethings are irreplaceable.  The ingredients cannot be diluted and reformed. Originality is beautiful particularly in a temporary world. This alone has more value than the price tag its given. We all know that. 

#saveblipsaveitsstaff

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.