0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Button Moon

In the Royal Botanical Gardens at Kew, my attention was brought to this unique jade vine flower in one of the large glasshouses.

It reminded me very much of the happy moon images we see portrayed in children books or cartoons - don't you think so...? http://4iphonewallpapers.com/iphone-4-wallpapers/main/2010_09/happy-moon.jpg

After taking the picture, I was curious about the plant so I did some background reading. I discovered that the jade vine is a relative of the pea family and is commonly pollinated by bats, probably giving it's usual flower shape ideal for them to hang down and feed on the nectar. Sadly, the jade vine has a very delicate nature and is considered an endangered species due to extensive deforestation. So, if you ever get the chance I highly recommend checking out this amazing plant and flower :)

Thanks for looking/comments/shares/favs!

112 Pictures in 2012: #58 - Delicate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.