Solitary juvenile

This evening S and I went to Breakwater Bay near the Port in New Plymouth to have a meal in an interesting cafe/restaurant (Manou's). As we arrived, I saw a Matuku moana (black reef heron) in the shallows in front of the cafe. Quickly got my camera and took three shots, before going inside. Because I thought it was n too much shadow for a good photo, I went outside onto the cafe's deck for another try. It had gone.

Another couple had arrived a little after us and the woman asked what I was looking for. I told her, and she said "That's a spoonbill heron down there " pointing further along the shore. I saw and agreed and (calling S to follow) went off to get a closer picture. Of the more than a dozen shots, this is my favourite.

The Maori name for the Royal Spoonbill is Kotuku ngutupapa. Kotuku is the name of the Great egret, ngutu means 'bill' and papa means 'broad'. This is a recent arrival in New Zealand (self introduced from Australia), first being seen in 1860, and the first confirmed breeding was in 1940.

This is a juvenile bird (probably male as they tend to be solitary, and seen in the North Island). The black face and eye, without yellow "eyebrows" distinguishes it from the adult bird.

With Matuku moana also being seen and photographed for the first time this year, my count is now 46.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.