Starlit Sky

Despite feeling somewhat under the weather, I just had to go out late at night to see if I could spot the Aurora which was forecast to be visible as far south as the Midlands.

The cloud cover began to lift by 6 pm and at 10.30 pm, the sky was clear. I drove up to Mount St Bernard's Abbey which lies on a ridge on Charnwood Forest a couple of miles from home, but there were a few street lights and no good vantage point looking north.

So I drove on into Whitwick and turned right down Swanneymote Road. This was more promising, as it was dark and there was a fairly uninterrupted view towards the Trent Valley. The only lights came from occasional passing traffic. I parked by a farm entrance and set up the tripod and camera.

Light pollution from the Trent Valley to the north was too intense, but I have managed to capture a starlit sky.

The trouble is, the more I look at this photo, the more I convince myself there are very faint stripes of red(magenta) and green above the light haze.
I felt disoriented and light-headed getting back into the car and driving home. Good thing there wasn't much traffic.

This photo should be for  the 18th March, but the time setting on my camera is wrong, so you have it on the 19th instead.

Seems I've missed all the community action about BlipCentral. I slept a lot of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.