Pinhole Eclipse

I wasn't going to risk burning out the sensor of my camera by photographing the eclipse directly.

And in any case, I wanted to try out an indirect way of viewing it. So Len and I set up a pinhole viewing. Really easy. 

I took a piece of white card and pushed a pin through the centre. Len clamped it in a retort stand perched on a stool. I placed a rather larger sheet of card on my desk chair about 0.75m behind the stool.

We used the bedroom on the south side of the house because the sun shines directly through the window. We drew the curtains as much as possible to darken the room.

Hey presto! Pinhole images, which I photographed with my camera, thus saving its sensor from burnout. I've collated four to give an idea of how the eclipse occurred and added the times at which each shot was taken.

OK, you'll see much clearer and better photos than these, but I enjoyed making the effort to track the eclipse.

Many thanks to Len for help.

Rest of the day? Helping Hayley photograph a wedding in Keyworth. Two brides. Lovely couple. Each wore a super dress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.