Lieutenant Kijé

My fellow blippers. You already know that I love you all - even that strange looking bloke at the back - and to evidence this I braved the freezing wind to take a photograph for you. 

I present the most optimistic ice-cream vendor in the south. It has been cold today. In fact it's been cold all week and this may be related to the boiler blowing up on Sunday night/Monday morning. The plumber was here fixing it when I heard the ice-cream van pull up outside. When we heard Mr Whippy as children we'd start mithering for an ice cream but giving anyone a cornet today would be seen as cruel. Because the plumber was due  I haven't been able to go out for blipfodder but the weather has been horridable so no great loss.

In other news; I've got a contract for a week at an OU residential school later in the year. I've done many weeks as an advisor but this is the first time I'll be going as a tutor so that's cool.

If you've not worked out the relevance of the title yet............... the ice-cream vendor's jingle is the main theme from the Troika  movement from Prokofiev's Lieutenant Kijé Suite. And that's a bit of culture for you compadres.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.