Fighting back the tears

After all the build-up, all the preparation and all the hype the eclipse wasn't even a damp squib. Had it not been given wall-to-wall coverage on all the main media outlets we'd not have known it had happened down here in Kent. We didn't see the beads or the diamond ring which, if Professor Cox is to be believed, was exceptional. I may be slightly overstating my disappointment.....

I've been doing some paid work today. Not the first time this year because I am still an OU tutor but certainly a little bit of novelty just now. Having done some stuff I decided to head out and get some fresh air. I ended up in Pluckley which is a lovely place and claims to be the most haunted village in the Britain. I had to post a letter and called in to the post office to buy some mints. When I got back to the car I was enjoying the view when a guy passed and said "Good afternoon" to which I obviously replied. We fell into conversation and when he asked if I'd seen the eclipse I admitted that I hadn't. He told me that he'd missed it too but his neighbours had bought a three-night trip to the Faroes to celebrate a big birthday and see the eclipse. As we parted we agreed that we hoped they had seen more than we had. As I drove away it struck me that he could be one of the 18 ghosts which Pluckley claims...............

Down the road I stopped for a mooch around Dering Wood which is what you have in the image above dear blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.