Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Here kitty, kitty, kitty...

Okay, I have to confess that seeing a bobcat in the wild is very high on my list of cool things!  I don't know that I've ever seen one before, actually - and when this one stepped out in the path ahead of me this morning, I nearly dropped my camera in my excitement to get off a few shots.  Turns out that the cat stayed visible for several minutes, although most of the time it was walking slowly away from me - so lots of butt shots.  Right after I snapped this, it melted into the tall grass at the side of the trail.  The blades of grass didn't even move...

Definitely a Little Moment I want to remember.

I decided to leave the East coast of FL very early this morning and head to Circle B Bar on my way home.  I ended up spending nearly 4 hours there, walking, snapping, enjoying the sun.  I probably won't get there again before we move, so I was having my own little "goodbye" tour.  Pretty awesome that the bobcat came out to see me off!

I replaced my emergency hand photo with my version of BlipfotoForever incorporating some wildlife from yesterday - have a look if you've got a moment.  I took a bit of license but I think the intent is in keeping with yesterday's theme.  And speaking of which, I LOVED seeing all the photos from yesterday's blip "event!"  Awesome!  And although I know there are some nay-sayers out there, I remain optimistic about Blip's future.  Yes, things will change, but not all changes are bad...

I posted 12 pics from my visit to Merritt Island yesterday starting HERE on Flickr.  My highlight yesterday was finally seeing one of Florida's  Scrub Jays!  I had all but given up finding one but at my last stop of the day... there it was, posing in nearly perfect light.  Gorgeous creatures, endemic to Florida and threatened due to habitat loss.  I also finally got a decent shot of Florida's state butterfly, the zebra longwing yesterday.  They are really hard to capture since they never seem to sit still!

I posted five other pics from this morning at Circle B starting HERE with a flying sandhill - includes a couple of other shots of the 'cat and a very rude alligator who was blocking the trail.  Good times!

Hubs and I are going out for dinner tonight - I'm too pooped to cook (a good excuse, no?)  And the countdown continues...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.