in the early morning rain

Glyn and Milo walk every morning, come rain or shine.  Which is what we had today.  I’ve made the decision to join them as often as I can; we have a mantra at my gym - keep fit for your family - so I reckon an hour’s walk would do very nicely.

The recent cyclones are still making their presence felt and the sky is black; “it’ll just blow over…” I take note of Glyn’s optimism and leave my waterproof at home.  The rain, when it does come is light and over with quickly.  

Milo sets the pace; bounding along but still making time to sniff good morning to his pals, Mrs Bedlington, The Schnauzer twins and Sid Vicious the collie.  It seems like all the world and her/his dog have the same idea.  No one seems bothered about the sky.

To the ocean and back is not exactly a walk in the park - well, it is to begin with - there’s a nice little park just outside G&M’s front door.  But the route is downhill for about a mile - which means a mile uphill on the way back.  The first couple of times I had to stop for breath on the way back.  Now I can keep up with Glyn and Milo.  Just.

The blackness doesn’t last long, but while it’s there, it’s quite dramaitic.

ps; lest we forget the NHS.
I have to get a dentist’s appointment for my lost filling; it’s starting to cause problems.  As I’m a tourist it’s a credit card job.  $464; which is about £250.  I expect gold from the Kalgoorie big hole for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.