he's not kidding

Anniemay’s off gallivanting with old friend from her teaching days who’s moved to Perth, so G&M and I take a drive out into the country.

A van with an OVERSIZE LOAD sign comes our way; we think nothing of it - we’ve seen plenty of these in our travels with Matilda.  About 5’ later, as we approach a bend in the road, a police car forces us off the road.  Glyn shouts; “you’d better get your camera out”.  He realises something big must be up.

I’m in the back of the car and can’t see anything but fumble for the camera just in case; then I see something through the trees.  I can’t undo the seatbelt or open the window, so point the camera over Glyn’s shoulder and hope for the best.  I fire the shutter twice - only one shot is in focus.  It’s only when I look at the image afterwards that I realise there are two of them.


As Cilla would say ‘that’s a lorra lorra lorry’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.