Bad Moon Rising

I didn't have any great expectations of the eclipse. It's been so misty at this time of day for all of this week, so I was pleased to get a view with swirly clouds. I put the camera on live view and closed the viewfinder so I wasn't tempted to look through it. I put on my 120-400 lens with a 1.4 x teleconverter and on the front I put a 6 stop ND.

All set up then. I was very pleased with the shots I was getting but just as we approached the key moment (85% coverage down here) a big bank of cloud came in and I was fairly sure that would be that.

So here we are, the last UK eclipse in my lifetime and this was thge best moment I got. A little bit of Silver Efex to put some definition in the clouds and give it a menacing look.

I hope you got a view, I can see from the gallery that lots of people have.

David

Update: I believe there's another partial in 2026. I might see that one if someone will wheel me out and point me in the right direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.