Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

94%

The most fortuitous break in the thick cloud occurred bang on time!
The crowd cheered, whooped, clapped and ooohed! We popped on our special glasses but couldn't see a bloody thing, they only work when the Sun is not obscured by cloud and very bright.

It's not a very good shot, and I've seen some truly astounding photos on Blip today, but it is my shot and I didn't bother wasting time trying to get a decent one, I just wanted to stand in awe and enjoy with my own eyes and not through a lens.
After this the rain came pissing down and most folk left, we hung about because the whole transit takes 2 hours and this is only half way through.  Glad we did, as the clouds went and the Sun came out properly, the glasses really worked then - and we saw a super sharp Sun with a lovely big Moon chunk missing, like Cookie Monster had been at the Sun.
Worth taking the kids out of school, don't care if I get into trouble for it!

I loved the enthusiasm the kids showed today, especially Amber!  She's always promised herself she'll see a total solar eclipse in her life and I know she will, she's determined! But seeing 94% was not too shoddy at all!

The rest of today is piano, karate grading and my lovely hubby home, most auspicious indeed :-)

Have a superb weekend Blippers, see you tomorrow.

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.