The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Kandawgyi Lake

After a very slow start, the three of us walked to Kandawgyi Lake. We noticed a group of locals taking photos of us with their phones, so I waved and walked over. I asked to take photos of this little girl who was transfixed by us. The markings on her face are 'Thanaka', a traditional cosmetic paste used all over Myanmar on most girls and women. It's mainly used for aesthetic reasons but it's also cooling and protects from the sun.

In the evening Liv wasn't feeling great but Nick and I went back to the club from last night. It was a bit of a mistake as it seemed a lot more depressing this time. It was half empty and most of the entertainment from the night before was missing. We met up with a British couple from my hotel but left after a couple of drinks and went across town to Union Bar and had some fun, including a huge conga line which I lead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.