Eclipse Triptych

3 ways of viewing the eclipse - pinhole camera, colander, camera.

Some friends who live in the countryside near Newcastle hosted a super "Eclipse Breakfast" this morning with about a dozen of us in attendance. We all had different ideas as to how to view the occasion.

The shoebox pinhole camera which I had made worked well (thanks to Natalie Wolchover on Youtube for the design!). The colander gave a great mutiple image effect. I was wary of pointing my camera directly at the sun as I don't have a dense neutral filter to protect the sensor, but there was enough cloud around to make me feel I could do so safely (I used liveview, not the optical viewfinder, for my own safety - and the camera and my eyes are still fine - phew!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.