The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

A Cosmic Smile

What an exciting morning.

My second partial eclipse of the sun in my life time.

It was a glorious morning, and Wales was one of the best places to see it in the end.

This is the best I could manage without knackering my camera. There are better ones on here I have no doubt, but I am quite pleased with this one, and the lens flare adds something to it I think.

It was really weird at twenty past nine when the light just went really watery and dim, and we only had about a 90% coverage, the further North you went the better it got. To see Belfast plunged into darkness in the early morning was quite eerie. 

This was just about at maxima, the crescent was smaller but I just couldn't get it with the equipment I have, I have no black out filters. I love the fact it is referred to as the smile by the astronomers on the television this morning.

It does make you feel very small when you actually think what is going on up there ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.