and through the wire...

By hesscat

The Crescent Sun

Yeah so blipfoto is awash with Solar Eclipse blips tonight and rightly so, it's a fascinating event we have to wait years for each time. It still boggles my head that the moon is exactly the right dimensions to block out the sun and no more, how did that happen? I also learned about an Annular Eclipse, when the moon is further away... I loves space things me!

I remember standing outside my 3 places of work ago, which happens to be my last place of work (see last Friday and Monday's blips) in 1999 watching the eclipse then and not really seeing anything except it getting darker.

With the wonders of technology advances, I can do that through my camera and watch it live - I wasn't expecting to see much but it was much better when there were clouds that drained out some of the surrounding light. This reminds me of photos of nebulas, sort of...

I was really glad to hear that Ms H borrowed a teachers protective glasses to see this too and was really impressed. On one hand I was concerned they might miss it, on the other hand did we want 100s of kids going to A&E. Good timing up there space bodies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.