Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solar Eclipse

What a grey morning we woke up to! So disappointing when we hope to see the partial solar eclipse. I had know for ages this was happening today but somehow just hadn't sussed out when to go to get my picture and where the sun would be around 9.30am. Stupid or what?

Well, The Man and I went out and drove around a bit. It was cloudy and cold. We felt we had absolutely no chance of a clear sky so I got the tripod out and took several shots of the scenery, after all, I needed a blip.

After 9.30 The Man went back to the car. I was just giving up ,too and turned towards the car. WOW! There it was! Not at all where I had been looking. I yelled his name. He couldn't hear me! I ran to the car, shouting and then banging on the bonnet. Missing the shot but needing to tell The Man to look.

So now I needed to change lenses from the one I had been using for landscapes, the sun was coming and going, I needed to change to manual focussing. I hoped I would get a chance of a shot. This was my first, taken at 9.33am. It might have been slightly fuller when I first saw it, but I think I've got it around its peak.

Back in the summer of 1999 it was a similar story. We went down to Cornwall to see the total eclipse, but the morning was cloudy. All except 5 minutes just at the point of the total solar eclipse. Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.