Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

High Horse, Low Horse

Dear Diary,

There is a farm down the road from me that boards horses.  I go by it everyday on my way to town.  I enjoy stopping to look at the horses from time to time.  Horses were a bit of passion of mine back in the day.

There was a stable not to far from where I grew up and when my cousins visited from Boston we would go and rent horses for the day.  My favorite was a black and white pinto pony named Scotch and Soda.
My cousins, being older, rode the big horses but I didn't mind.  I just loved trotting along with them.

When I first went to the Hebrides in 2005 I learned about the legend of Epona, the goddess who came as a white horse to lead people to Tir na nOg, the land of eternal youth in the West.  These were quite a distance away from the road so I wasn't able to get the intimate close-ups I like but I liked their arrangement and the memories they brought out.  Perhaps memories are my Tir na nOg, my land of eternal youth no matter how old my body grows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.