New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Big, brutalist and listed

Friday March 20
Preston Bus Station - the largest in Europe when it was built. Saved from demolition in 2013 by gaining a Grade II listing.
Spent the day in Preston visiting my daughter - although I travelled by train rather than by bus. I left Euston at 8:45 and was around Milton Keynes at the 'height' of the eclipse. I kept looking out for signs of it but was surprised that I never even noticed it getting darker. In fact, the day was quite bright until we got to around Warrington when the cloud and drizzle started...
It only brightened up in the late afternoon by which time we had given up on our planned walk through Avenham Park and along the river and gone to the tile shop and bathroom centre instead to get ideas for her new bathroom.
Preston is full of fascinating history the more you get to know it. I could plan a good guided walk there!
Was intending to post my blip from the train on the way home but the wifi had been intermittent on the way up - apparently in the process of being upgraded - so I decided not to chance it on the way down as you have to pay for it in standard class.
Spent a lovely day with my daughter but in the process missed both the eclipse (which didn't seem to be visible in London anyway) and what I'm told was a lovely sunny day in London!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.