the apparition in my hallway

Waking this morning to bright sun in a blue sky coming through my windows. As I stepped from the bedroom to the door I met this apparition of light in my hallway. A ghostly sea creature floating before me. I have been visited by the phantoms before. What do they want? What are they trying to tell me?

This one just hung there enigmatically, absorbing all the meaning and metaphor pouring out of me into it. I gave it everything: the hope, the fears, the fantasies, the reality. I was aswim in the deep and vast ocean of light and angles (much like yesterday's eclipse) and this bright creature suspended itself before me and took everything I wanted to give to it.

Sodden from outpouring, I surfaced a while, went and made myself a breakfast coffee and when I returned it had vanished. My hallway was apparition-less. The light-ocean had drained away and taken its creature of the bottom deep. I can go now and stand where it was, but it's only air and plain shadow there. It has taken all of my hopes and fears and vanished into the fathomless depths from whence it came. This ghost bubbling to the surface of my home in the springtide light. This beautiful thing that was there when I awoke thinking of a beautiful thing.

Did I conjure it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.