Shoveler Duck

It certainly felt like spring today, blue skies and loads of sunshine.  Mr T is taking advantage of the good gliding weather so I’m home alone for the weekend and after a bit of shopping to get ingredients for tomorrow night’s dinner for some of his family up from Norfolk,  I packed my camera, a picnic and headed off to Venus Pools, just south of Shrewsbury.   Venus Pools is a Shropshire Ornithological Society’s Reserve and I first heard of it from a fellow Blipper, NatureWatcher.  Thought I would go and check it out and have had a wonderful day.  Lots of enthusiastic and knowledgeable Birders in the hides who were only too pleased to share their knowledge with me.
 

This is a female Shoveler, I saw the brightly coloured male too and:  Grebe, Snipe, Swan, Godwitz, Plover, Sanderling, Lapwing, Mallard, Moorhen and Coot to name but a few.  The Wildbird Hide was good too and there were plenty of Tits, Chaffinch, Robin, Sparrow, Dunnock and even a Rabbit to be seen.

Definitely a place to be revisited .......  soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.