A time for everything

By turnx3

Aqueduc de la Vanne

Friday
Unfortunately no chance of seeing the eclipse this morning, since it was totally overcast. However, by noon, as I was driving to Bourron Marlotte for lunch followed by Book Club, the weather was clearing, and by late afternoon when my blip was taken, it had turned into a beautiful late afternoon. The book we were reading was a French book for a change, Charlotte, by David Foenkinoss, a novel inspired by the tragic life of Charlotte Salomon, a German Jewish painter, who died, pregnant, in a German extermination camp at age 26, I had been a bit apprehensive about reading a book in French, fearing my French wasn't up to it, however it was actually a fairly easy read, and although there were certain words I didn't understand, I was usually able to get the meaning of the sentence without looking the word up.
I took this blip of the Aqueduc de la Vanne as I was returning home. With a length of 156 km, the aqueduct was built between 1866 and 187 to supply drinking water to Paris, and was the work of the engineer Eugène Belgrand, at the request of Baron Haussmann. The aqueduct traverses the Forest of Fontainebleau, sometimes underground, but much of it above, as shown here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.