Halo Around the Sun

This is what we saw when we looked up this afternoon as we waited for the Lummi Island Ferry to arrive. It is a halo around the sun caused by ice crystals in cyrus clouds very high in the atmosphere. Sometimes it is also called a Sun Dog. I was a bit nervous aiming my camera right at the sun but I did have a neutral density filter on so hopefully it protected my sensor. Take a look at the large version of this photo.

Helena and I went to look at the hummer this morning. She was more nervous than she has been and even though she left her nest twice she wouldn't feed her baby so I didn't get any new video or stills of him today.

Arvin, Helena and I drove to the Lummi Ferry terminal where we met Dave, Nora, Rick and Judy and joined them for the trip across. Steve and Kai also met us. They were traveling on their bikes. We went to the Lummi Island Art Studio Tour and had a great time. Our last stop was wine tasting so we felt very mellow as we headed back on the ferry.

Steve and Kai made dinner for us all and we had a great evening together. It was a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.