Beach building at Breckness

The sunshine of yesterday has been blown away today, and showers have never been far away. The dogs and I stole my beautiful fiancée's car when she returned from work and we trudged up the hill under grey skies and heavy showers.
Back home for a coffee before we went through to Stromness so that HV could get her fix of horses and I could take the dogs along the shore. The timing was a bit poor as the tide was very high. The normal route along the beach was submerged as we squeezed between the high bank and the foamy waves. We wandered through the ruins of Breckness House and further along towards Billiacrue through soggy fields. The dogs enjoyed the chance to chase a few rabbits, but our wanderings were soon curtailed by electric fences. 
The sea was receding by the time we were back on the shore and I stood and watched the waves rolling in - something I have had too little time for of late. It was raining, but I couldn't have cared less about the rain. I was watching the waves roll in, laden with sand, rebuilding the beach. There was no evidence of a sandy beach as I walked out, but each wave was leaving more sand. Where does it all come from?
I got thoroughly wet on the way back to the car but it was good to be out again.
HV seemed to enjoy her hoss fix too.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.