Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Eye to eye...

The frogs returned to the ponds while we were away in Cyprus, but we've had to wait until this morning for any spawn. I've recorded the date of spawning for the last thirteen years, and I can confirm that they're relatively late this year. The earliest date was 24th February in 2002, while the latest was 29th March in 2013. 

I'm having Mother's Day today, as we were all too tired to celebrate last weekend. Pete brought me coffee in bed and made a special breakfast. We then went out recording in south Lincolnshire, walking all around Little Bytham. We found a lovely little nursery there, full of interesting plants and with a superb tea-room where we had home-made vegetable soup and a delicious cheese scone. I ended up bringing a few plants home, and have spent the rest of the afternoon planting up a bed that needed rejuvenating.

As I write there are delicious smells wafting from the kitchen. Pete and the boys are preparing a Cypriot meal - grilled halloumi and souvlaki to start, followed by kleftico and afelia, with home made baklava for dessert. Can't wait!

I was interested to read all the comments on my blurry cat blip - we are all of one mind it seems!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.