Sunday: Nada Dimic

In the last few days spring has really kicked in.  I find here that there always seems to be one day when you can say this is it - you notice the blossoms, the air feels cleaner and everyone has a little spring in their step.  I think that today was probably that day.

I cheated a bit with my walk today by taking the car into town but the benefit of that was that I went for a good long walk round a part of town that I don't frequent that often.  Consequently, I stumbled across this building which I can honestly say I have never noticed before.  It's near the railway station and is a defunct textile factory.

Much more interesting, however, is the fact that it is named after Nada Dimic.  Nada Dimic was a young Yugoslav communist who fought with the Partisans in the Second World War.  She was caught by the Italians but refused to provide them with any information.  She was sent to a concentration camp here in Croatia where she was murdered at the age of 18.  Later on, she was declared a People's Hero.

The rest of the day has been quiet.  I have read a lot this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.