CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Lovebirds meet on Clevedon Pier, Somerset

We set off to drive to Clevedon just a few minutes after 10am which meant we weren't running late, unusually.  We arrived soon after 11am  with no one to greet us.  But soon enough people began gathering to mark Mary's big birthday with a long walk along the coastal footpath and then a picnic near the Poet's walk high up on the hills on the south side of the town.

I couldn't join the walk as my joints have been playing up, so hovered near to the footpath to the north of the town.  Form a vantage point I could see along the coastal cliffs and the rocks below.  In the distance the wonderful old iron pier which Clevedon is well known for appeared as if coming of of the cliffs. 

I liked this image because of the young couple on the right who by chance got caught in my picture kissing in profile.  You can't see it easily but I thought I would blip them for posterity.

I caught up with all the others when they reached the south of the town and we had a wonderful picnic together in the war sunshine which broke through the clouds just before we started to eat.

Helena and I left slightly early as we had to return to Stroud for a music gig this evening. I  have just returned form it and managed to take some pictures of the two artists, Emily Barker and Gill Sandell who put on a brilliant show in the local pub, the Prince Albert.  We are so lucky to have Emily living here in Stroud so that she pops up at odd times to give us another night to remember.

Prompted by Tanya's comment below, I think it highly appropriate to add a link to Emily Barker's song, 'Dear River', having spent the last three days  visiting our big local river Severn and then seen her in person singing it acoustically tonight.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.