Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Pretty Polyanthus

I was still at Mum's today, while having the car serviced and MOT'd.  Sad to think that a year ago it was Dad who took it in to the same dealer before we knew he had lung cancer.  Something else I did today which he would have done this time last year was to plant in the garden the potted Polyanthus flowers which were given to Mum, my sister and me by the carvery restaurant last weekend on Mothering Sunday.  They've always presented these to all the ladies every year that we've been having our Sunday roast there. The three of us were also treated to our lunches by the restaurant manager, as long-standing regular customers.  They have been really kind to us there, especially recently.  The flowers are such gorgeous jewel colours, and look lovely in the patch where we decided to put them.  All the other Polyanthus that Dad put in over the years are doing really well, little splashes of vibrant colour peeping out from various borders - my blipfoto is of just one of them.  I hope the Polyanthus I've just planted will do as well in years to come.

I've been a bit out of sorts today.  My emotions are being tugged this way and that by a whole variety of things - mostly missing Dad a lot, but also knowing that in a week's time there is another enormous change coming up in my life and I'm starting to get a little apprehensive about it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.