Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Early Bumble Bee

I've decided to see if I can get a shot of all the bumble bee species that come into my garden this year.  This was another case of a photo bombing bee, I missed the one I was aiming for so it was just at the border of the photo and this is the best crop I could give it. 

It's an Early or Early-nesting Bumble Bee, B. pratorum and as it's name suggests it's one of the earliest to fly. They are common and widespread around the UK. 

I had my first day out in the garden.  I'm very late to start clearing this year but work got the better share of my time and I really wasn't feeling up to it with the flu.  I'm not worried. A great deal of what I sow early gets  frosted  and the seeds sown later seem to catch up without any problems. 

Now, all I need is  a few days of good weather so I can catch up.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.