Circling

Full day today, after which S and I drove to a lace where we could join the Coastal Walkway and walk along towards the central part of the city. I had seen and photographed a few things of interest and then saw a group of dark birds flying fast as a group, and circling in a rather haphazard fashion. 

When I first saw them, my photos allowed me to identify them as Rock Pigeons, of the feral variety. Apparently wild birds are pale grey with two black bars on each wing. The domestic and feral (domestic returning to the wild) pigeons are like the domestic pigeons in being variable in pattern and colour. One of my first photos showed that very well as they all looked very different.

I have chosen this more striking photograph in which the pigeons are seen in silhouette against the clouds and a touch of blue sky. Because photographically it is a better picture. 

Additional:
S has said to me that I have been too obscure in my description of the photo of my class reunion two days ago. It was unintentional, and if I have been I apologise. The class graduated from Medical School in Dunedin. We started reunions after 15 years, and it has now been three times that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.